Program: I SPY Creations!

ispy-booklets

Months ago – or maybe even a year ago…probably a year ago – I made a resolution to blog more about some of the amazing things that my coworkers are doing. And I kind of failed at that resolution (okay, I massively failed). But when I saw the I SPY Creations program that my amazing coworker, Dori, presented, I knew that I had to blog about it. So I asked her to write up a quick summary about the program, and here’s what she had to say:

Kids came in and sat down on a rug in front of three tables worth of “stuff” (buttons, animal figurines, clothespins, dominos, blocks, toy cars, balls, and other eclectic items). I passed out I Spy books for them to flip through while we waited for the program to begin. Once everyone was there, I talked to them about I Spy books and how we were going to make our own book. We took a quick look at some of the layouts and the clues, then I let kids decide if they wanted to work in groups or by themselves. (Most kids broke into groups of two or three, but there were a few who chose to work alone.)

I then assigned each team to a color; I had ten different sheets of 24 x 36 construction paper spread out on several tabletops and a few spots on the floor. These served as the backgrounds to their I Spy scene (additionally, having ten different colors helped me pair their hint sheets to their scene photos.)

I then had them each grab a gray bucket and fill it with 10-15 items each (to start with), then they worked to arrange them as a team. Once everyone had a chance to grab a handful of items, I opened up the supply tables for them to take items as they needed—but for the first round, I limited them to 10-15 because I wanted everyone to have a chance to get “the good stuff”.

Once they were done arranging, I gave them a Clue Sheet with a spot for them to write their background color and up to ten hints for their scene. Then, I took a picture of each scene and collected the Hint Sheets.

At the end of the program, I got information from each child/family about how they wanted to receive their book once they were compiled (two days later). Some chose to have theirs left at the Ask Here Desk for them, and some gave me their address to have it mailed.

All in all, it was a pretty fun program with a really decent final product. If I could change one thing, though, I would spend a bit more time going through an I Spy book as I talked about the hints and the scene layout—particularly how to come up with clever hints (some hint sheets were nothing but “I spy something green and yellow,” but I did have some five- and six-year-olds, so that might be as good as they could give me even with a stronger focus on hints/clues).

Supply List:

*tons of “stuff” in various shapes/sizes/colors (i.e. anything you’d find in an I Spy book)

*various background options (poster boards, table clothes, etc.)

*a camera

*a hint sheet form

*I Spy books for examples

 

(Plus, a color printer and slide-binder report covers to print and make the books.)

One thought on “Program: I SPY Creations!

Leave a Reply

