Makerspace Challenge: Not a Stick

Not a Stick

This month’s makerspace challenge was inspired by one of my favorite picture books! I originally wanted to do Not a Box, but I didn’t have enough boxes to last for an entire monthly challenge. I did, however, have plenty of Popsicle sticks. So…

Because the makerspace is all about creativity, I left this challenge completely open. I basically pulled the book for inspiration, threw a bunch of Popsicle sticks, notched sticks, and old fashioned clothes pins into a tub, and let the kids have at it.

Not a Stick 2

I honestly can’t tell you if this challenge is going over well with the kids or not. May is a bear of a month for the Children’s Department. Between some vacation days and working on SRP stuff, I feel like I haven’t really had time to pay attention to the makerspace, aside from making sure that it stays stocked.

But I will say that A LOT of the Popsicle sticks have disappeared, so they’re obviously being used for something!

Leave a Reply

