2016 Goodreads Challenge Update #2

2016 Goodreads Challenge 2

It took me a little longer than expected to read the next 10 books in my Goodreads challenge. This is due to many reasons: I got sick with a particularly nasty sinus something or another — twice — in the past few months, and I find it hard to read when I’m not feeling well. I’ve also been going through phases where I’d rather reread favorites instead of reading something new. And there were a couple of books that I picked up, read a few chapters, then put down again. But I made it! So here we go:

Winter –> I bought this book when it first came out, and I started reading it right away. I inhaled the first 1/3 of the book, and I was certain that I’d finish it before 2016, but then the middle part dragged on, and I ended up putting it down for…a month or two? I don’t know. It was awhile. But once I picked it up again and managed to get through the slow middle part, I inhaled the rest of it. Over all, I thought it was a good ending to a beloved series (even if the middle part was kind of slow).

The Walls Around Us –> I picked this book up during a phase where I wanted to read something, but didn’t feel like reading anything in particular. The book had been on my To Read list for awhile, and I had an arc of it laying around, so I picked it up. This book and how I feel about it is a perfect example of how being a mood reader affects what you think of books. I think this book is incredibly well written. The characters are vivid and the mood is eerie and suspenseful. But, as I was reading it, I thought it was just okay because I just wasn’t in the mood for a spooky magical realism book about murderous ballerinas.

The Shadow Queen –> I wasn’t going to read this one initially because I am SO OVER the whole fairy tale retelling genre. (I’ll probably get back into it when it becomes popular again, but for now I’m DONE). But then I heard that the Snow White character also has magic, and that there are DRAGONS in it, so I decided to pick it up. Again, this is a book that has good writing, good characters, nice setting, okay plot…but I felt very meh about it. I didn’t hate it. Didn’t love it. It was just okay. I did, however, recommend it to a friend who I thought would enjoy it. She was interested enough to pick it up, but I haven’t heard about whether she finished it or not.

Illuminae –> This book! THIS. BOOK! You can imagine that after reading several books that were just meh, I was starting to feel very apathetic about reading. But I heard a lot of good things about this book, so I picked it up. And, OH BOY, I am so glad that I did! This book is storytelling at it’s finest, and it’s just so visually appealing! My review of it on Goodreads is simply, “This book is a work of art,” and it really is. It’s also science fiction done right, and I am so much in love with this book!

Into the Dim –> And we’re back to a book that’s just okay. This book was described as Outlander for the younger crowd. While I haven’t read Outlander, I’ve seen bits of the show, and I generally really like time travel stories, so I picked it up. And. Yeah. It’s decent. The characters are good. The setting is…well, the setting is really well done. The plot is okay. I can totally see why there are so many people loving this book, but for me it was just okay.

The Dragonet Prophecy & The Lost Heir –> The Wings of Fire series is really popular at my library, so I decided to read the first book to see what all the buzz was about (and to help with my reader’s advisory, of course). I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did, but there you go. I love the characters and the world building and the plot. And the writing is such that I found it really hard to put down. If I were a 10-year-old, I would be GEEKING OUT about this series. But I’m not 10, so I’m not geeking out, but I did really, really enjoy it. I don’t know if I’ll read anymore in the series…but maybe.

All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook –> I picked this one up solely because the premise of a child being raised in a prison was very intriguing to me. I have to admit that this book was wonderful, but I didn’t love it, love it. And I’m not sure how many kids would enjoy it.

First & Then –> I was so excited about this book because I’m a huge fan of Jane Austen retellings. Seriously. A great Sunday afternoon for me would consist of a Jane Austen movie, tea, and some form of baked goods. Since I was so excited for this one going into it, I was doubly disappointed to find it very meh. (Are you seeing a theme here?) There were some good things about this book, but I mostly found it boring and a little baffling (Why does this girl who seemingly has only 1 friend get invited to the popular parties? Why does the writing sometimes try to imitate Jane Austen, but then goes back to a typical YA writing? Why is a girl pregnant when we never really expand on that story?) UGH!

The Wrath and the Dawn –> And we are finally, FINALLY, back to a book that made me love reading all over again! This one came out last year and has had a lot of good reviews. It’s a retelling of 1001 Nights (there’s been a lot of those lately), and I completely fell in love with the world and the characters. I’m pretty sure I read this book in a day, and I have the sequel on hold at my library, and I am waiting very impatiently for it to come in!


And there you have it! Goals for my next ten books include trying to read an adult book (I’ve fallen so behind on my adult book reading that it’s kind of sad). I also would really like to throw in some nonfiction too, but we’ll see if that happens.

Leave a Reply

