Toddler Art — December 2015

Yep, I’m still doing Toddler Art! In October, I had 3 or 4 daycare/preschools show up along with all the families, and it was super fun chaos. But I think all the people ended up scaring the daycares/preschools away because they haven’t been back since. I’m planning to send out letters to those daycares/preschools, inviting them to a special Toddler Time session just for them. Fingers crossed it works out well!

In the meantime, December’s crafts were a HUGE, HUGE hit! I had a snowflake theme, and the toddlers/preschoolers all wanted to make several of each snowflake. Moms were walking out of the program room with paper plates laden with snowflakes and big smiles on their faces. It was so much fun! So here’s what we did:

Q-tip Painted Snowflakes

Painted Snowflakes

Materials:

  • Paper snowflakes (made by gluing together several strips of blue paper)
  • White paint
  • Q-tips

Instructions:

  • Children dip the Q-tips into white paint and decorate to their heart’s content.

*The kids had a lot of fun adapting this craft. There was one little boy who cut up (or I guess his mom did) the Q-tips and used them as a way to decorate the snowflake (the white paint acting as glue). And several kids painted their snowflakes white then rushed over to the other tables to use glitter to decorate.

Colorful Snowflakes

Colorful Snowflakes

Materials:

  • Popsicle stick snowflakes (made beforehand with hot glue)
  • Pom poms
  • Colorful pasta
  • Glitter
  • Glue
  • Markers

Instructions:

  • Children decorate snowflakes using colorful stuff.

*I had at least one mom ask me why I didn’t make these into ornaments. I had figured that many Christmas-celebrating parents would want these as ornaments, but I was purposely trying to avoid the whole Christmas thing out of respect for those who don’t celebrate it (this was not advertised as a Christmas Toddler Art, after all). I also figured that it would be very easy for grown-ups to add string or yarn to these when they get home, so I figured that those who’d want to use them as ornaments would still be able to do so. …Just…you know, at home. : )

**I was mildly worried that some of the toddlers would try to eat the pasta, but none did.

Overall, it was a very, very fun Toddler Art! A bit messy though…I still have to sweep up some glitter that got away from the tables. Thankfully our program is intended for messy crafts.

One thought on “Toddler Art — December 2015

Leave a Reply

