Blogging Goals

Hello 2015Picture credit:  R@cHeLIE on WeHeartIt

Normally I’m not one for New Years Resolutions.  I learned at an early age that the hype of the new year wears off around the middle of January and resolutions are usually forgotten by then too.  Still, I’m a goal-oriented person in general, and I feel like making some blogging goals for 2015, so here we go!  (Plus it’ll be fun to see how many of these I accomplish.)

1.  Blog more often.

I have always been a sporadic blogger.  There have been times (usually in the winter) where I would post fairly regularly, but most months I’m lucky to get one post up.  While I realize that this is fine — I don’t need to blog — I would really like to start blogging more because I love blogging professionally.  I think sharing ideas and being a part of the broader conversation is one of the most rewarding things we can do as far as professional development goes, and I want to continue to partake in it.

2.  Continue A Few of My Favorite Themes Series

A Few of My Favorite Themes is a blog series that I started in 2014 in which I list my favorite books, rhymes, and activities for each of my favorite storytime themes.  It was my way to keep storytime on this blog, seeing as I don’t do storytime as often in my current position.  And, honestly, I really like this series!  Not only does it give me the chance to talk about my favorite storytime themes, but it also gives me the chance to highlight other peoples’ work that I find amazing!  However, these posts are time consuming to put together, which is why I haven’t posted many of them.  For my last Favorite Theme post, Apples, I did away with all the PDFs and linked to stuff instead, which was a little easier/faster.  So I’m hoping to get a few more of these posts up this year (but it probably won’t be many).

3.  Have a week dedicated to Theme-less Storytimes

I am still doing theme-less storytimes.  I know it’s not for everyone, but I would like to spend a week talking about it.  This is mostly just to force myself to examine it critically and to pinpoint what’s working and what’s not working.  My plans for this week are still very nebulous but will probably include a post about the pros and cons, a few theme-less storytime plans, and maybe even some discussion or stats or something.  Who knows.

4.  Post more picture book reviews!

I have fallen incredibly far behind in keeping track of new picture books that come out, and that is appalling!  The Perfect for Storytime series that I did at the beginning of 2014 was well received, and I’d like to continue it.  It probably won’t be called Perfect for Storytime anymore because I’d want to also highlight great books that may not be perfect for storytime, but I need to start paying attention to picture books again, otherwise I’ll be reading the same picture books over and over in storytime.

5.  Blog on other topics.

When I started this blog, it was largely a storytime blog because that was the bulk of what I did (after ordering books).  While I still love storytime and want to keep blogging about it (hell, three out of five of my goals for 2015 are storytime related), I also want to focus on other things:  technology, apps, pop-up programming, reader’s advisory, etc.  I know that most people who come to my blog do so for storytime ideas (and to figure out how to make a Readbox display, which is oddly one of the most popular posts on this blog), but I hope you all will appreciate reading about other things too.

4 thoughts on “Blogging Goals

  1. #1 and #5 are definitely me too. I do lead storytime each week for 12-week chunks of the year, and so during those times I’m great about posting frequently but all it is is my ST plans. And during the breaks I’m barely blogging. So one of my goals is to write more about “other stuff” too.

    • Storytime is great, but other stuff is also important to blog about. But sometimes it’s hard to figure out what other stuff to write about. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

