Toddler Art — December 2014

Toddler Art is quickly becoming a program that I hate planning for, but love implementing.  It draws such a huge crowd, and my coworker and I always have fun watching the parents and toddlers stamp, smear, and crinkle their artwork. I usually bring the iPod in and have music playing (softly) in the background, which really helps create a warm and welcoming atmosphere.  By the time the program is over, I’m feeling pretty darn good about the whole thing.  Until I realize that I have to start planning the next Toddler Art.

This month was a little tricky because I wanted to avoid any holiday crafts, but also wanted to have a festive atmosphere.  I figured celebrating snow and winter would be a good way to go, so I had a snowman craft and a mitten craft.

Snowman Craft

Snowman Craft
Materials:

  • Blue construction paper with snowman drawing
  • White (non-toxic) finger paint
  • Clothespins
  • Cotton balls
  • Paper plate (or something else to hold the paint)

Instructions:

  • Clip the clothespin onto cotton balls
  • Instruct children to dip cotton balls into white paint
  • Sponge onto snowman drawing

*The cotton balls got weighted down with paint very easily, so I was changing cotton balls out after children had finished. It was a bit of a hassle, but not so much of one that I wouldn’t do it again.

Mitten Craft

Mitten Craft
Materials:

  • Mitten cut out
  • Stickers

Instructions:

  • Children stick stickers onto mitten cut out

*This was one of the easier crafts that I’ve done for this program.  Prep time was quick since I had a mitten die cut. The craft was self explanatory, and we only needed to keep an eye on replenishing stickers.

3 thoughts on “Toddler Art — December 2014

Leave a Reply

