Pre-K Storytime: Nighttime

I’m back!  …Well, sorta.  While I’m starting to get settled in at my new job, I’m still adjusting.  Which means that my posts will probably continue to be sporadic until 2014.  In the meantime, here’s a storytime plan that worked very well with a group of preschoolers who were touring the library:

Opening Song:  The More We Get Together (wigh ASL signs)

Book #1:  Steam Train, Dream Train by Sherri Duskey Rinker

Steam Train Dream Train
I talked about my love for this book back in August, and I have to say that that love has not abated!  The children were riveted to this book!  Their eyes were glued to the pages, they asked all kinds of wonderful questions, and one little boy flat out told me “I like that book!” when we finished it!  Storytellers beware though…this book runs a tad on the long side and probably isn’t best for wiggly crowds.

Activity #1:  Where is Bear? (Fingerplay Rhyme w/ Finger Puppets)

Bear Puppets 2
[to the tune of Thumbkin]

Where is bear?  Where is bear?
Here I am.  Here I am.
How are you today, bear?
Very tired, thank you.
Go to sleep.  Go to sleep.

After we finished singing the rhyme, I had the children count to 3 then shout, “Wake up, bear!”  The bear finger puppets woke up, then we did the whole thing over again.

Credit:  Preschool Education

Book #2:  I Dare You Not to Yawn by Helene Boudreau

I Dare You Not To Yawn
In this book, a small child gives advice on how to avoid yawns and bedtime.  Prior to reading, I told the children that no one was allowed to yawn during this book.  Of course, as I was reading it, I emphatically yawned throughout the story, much to the children’s delight.  Some of the kids yawned right along with me…others clamped their hands over their mouths to keep from yawning.  Overall, this was a very fun book for when you’re feeling silly in storytime.

Activity #2:  Little Moon, Little Moon

Little Moon 2
We all know how fond I am of doing the Little Mouse games in storytime.  In this one, I hid a little moon behind a cloud and the children had to guess which cloud it was behind by reciting:  “Little moon, little moon, are you behind the ___________ cloud?”

Credit:  So Tomorrow

Book #3:  A Book of Sleep by Il Sung Na

Book of Sleep
This book is another favorite of mine!  I love Il Sung Na’s artwork in all of his stories, but this one is especially whimsical for me.  I also love how this book is very short but has plenty of opportunities for discussion.

Activity #3:  Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star

Twinkle, twinkle, little star.
How I wonder what you are.
Up above the world so high.
Like a diamond in the sky.
Twinkle, twinkle, little star.
How I wonder what you are.

Credit:  Traditional

Book #4:  How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight by Jane Yolen & Mark Teague

How do Dinosaurs
You can never go wrong with dinosaurs, and the kids especially loved saying “No” or “Yes” after every question in the book.

How It Went:

I really enjoyed this storytime!  In the past, I never really liked the nighttime/going to bed theme, which is probably why I never posted any of my past plans for this theme.  But this one had a great collection of books (from the whimsical to the funny), and the kids really enjoyed the rhymes/activities (especially waking the bears up!).

Also, you might have noticed the new opening rhyme!  I’ll be using a new closing rhyme as well, but I didn’t include it for this storytime since we started our tour as soon as the storytime was finished.

One thought on “Pre-K Storytime: Nighttime

Leave a Reply

