Pre-K Storytime: Transportation

This week I did another oldie but goodie storytime theme:  Transportation (aka, Things That Go)!  One thing that amazes me so far about storytime is that even though I reuse themes, I always find at least one new thing to include in the storytime plan.  This week I’m sharing two new-to-me books for this theme, as well as a few new activities as well!  Here’s what I did:

Opening Song:  Open, Shut Them

Books:

Transportation Books

Steam Train, Dream Train by Sherry Duskey Rinker
I LOVED Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site, so when this book came in, I knew that I had to use it in my transportation storytime.  The artwork is gorgeous, and the story about animals loading and boarding a train is dreamlike and full of imagination.  And, because it’s written in rhyme, it flows very well and is a great book to share with a group!

Cars Galore by Peter Stein
This is one of those books that runs a bit on the long side (especially since it’s so repetitive), so I paperclipped some pages together so that I could easily skip them and shorten the book.  To make the story more interactive, I handed out jingle bells to the kids and told them to ring their jingle bells every time I said the word “car”.  The word appears a lot in this story, so the kids had a ball with it! Granted, most of them shook the jingle bells constantly, so when I was halfway through the book, I skipped to the end then played a stop and go game with the kids and jingle bells.

Don’t Squish the Sasquatch by Kent Redeker
Senor Sasquatch wants to ride the city bus, but he does not like to be squished.  Unfortunately for him, public transportation is crowded these days, and as more and more crazy critters (elephant-shark, octo-rhino, loch-ness-monster-space-alien!) board the bus, the more Senor Sasquatch feels squished until KA-BLOOEY!  The kids loved saying, “Don’t squish the Sasquatch!” with me!

Night Light by Nicholas Blechman
This concept book introduces modes of transportation by first showing us the vehicle’s lights only.  This makes for a wonderful guessing game for the children!

Activities:

Transportation Activities

Count & Clip Cards – Credit:  The Measured Mom

I handed out these wonderful cards and gave the children a few minutes to count and clip with their caregivers.  I absolutely love this activity because it not only reinforces STEM and fine motor skills, but it also gives me a bit of a breather during storytime.  Once they finished, we did a few count and clip cards together.

Green Says Go – Credit:  Tell Me Who To Credit?

Green says go!
Go! Go! Go!
Yellow says slow.
Slow.  Slow.  Slow.
And red says stop!
Go, go, go!
Slow, slow, slow.
And stop!

I held up the corresponding color circles as we said this rhyme and marched in place (fast, slow, and stop).  It’s like red light, green light for the storytime crowd.

Wheels on the Bus – Credit:  Traditional

The wheels on the bus go round and round.
Round and round.  Round and round.
The wheels on the bus go round and round.
All through the town.

…doors…open and shut
…windows…up and down
…wipers…swish, swish, swish
…driver…says move on back
…babies…wah, wah, wah
…mamas…shh, shh, shh

Rhyme Cube:  I’m a Little Tea Pot and Twinkle, Twinkle

Closing Song:  Children, Children, Turn Around

How It Went:

Overall, I think it went pretty well.  We had an amazingly big crowd today (60 people), so while I think everyone really enjoyed the books and activities, it also kind of felt a little hectic to me.  I really had to pay attention to the crowd and move onto things that suited them (activities to get the wiggles out before moving onto a book).  Still, it worked out pretty well, and I would definitely use all the books and activities again.

One thought on “Pre-K Storytime: Transportation

  1. […] Flannelboard: “Green Says Go” Green says, “Go!” (march quickly) Go! Go! Go! Yellow says, “Slow!” (march slowly) Slow…slow…slow And red says, “Stop!” (stop and freeze) Go! Go! Go! (march fast) Slow…slow…slow (march slowly) and STOP! (stop) Credit: Toddler Storytime […]

Leave a Reply

