Toddler Time: Gardens

My regular preschool storytime is on hiatus during June and July (we do celebrity storytime instead), but I am providing Toddler Time every other week during the summer.  Today was the first Toddler Time of the summer, and I’ve changed up my routine a bit — I added an extra book and an extra rhyme and brought my rhyme cube along for some extra movement fun.

I was very nervous about this Toddler Time.  It was the first time I did Toddler Time in the summer.  I was in a different room with a different set up than what I’m usually used to.  I also wasn’t sure how big of a crowd I’d get, so I had to plan for the unexpected and be very flexible.  Everything worked out in the end, though.  I had a medium sized crowd that consisted mostly of mothers and toddlers who’ve been coming to my storytimes for months.  They were very happy to be there, and we all had so much fun with the rhymes and books!

OPENING RHYMES:

OPEN, SHUT THEM
Credit:  Traditional

HANDS UP HIGH
Credit:  Manly Library

Gardens Books

BOOKS:

MY GARDEN BY KEVIN HENKES

UP, DOWN, AND AROUND BY KATHERINE AYRES

PLANTING A RAINBOW BY LOIS EHLERT

MIDDLE RHYMES:

ONE POTATO, TWO POTATO
Credit:  CLSP manual pg 16

ROUND AND ROUND THE GARDEN
Credit:  CLSP manual pg 16

I’M A LITTLE SEED
Credit:  Kindergarten Magic pg 245

FIVE GREEN PEAS
Credit:  Kindergarten Magic pg 244

Gardens Flannelboard

FLANNELBOARD:

FIVE LITTLE APPLES
Credit:  Busy Crafting Mommy

CLOSING RHYME:

CHILDREN, CHILDREN, TURN AROUND
Credit:  Traditional

HOW IT WENT:

I have to say that Five Little Apples and Five Green Peas were the favorite rhymes (the toddlers also really loved the rhyme cube…it was the first time I used it with this age group).  And, of course, Up, Down, And Around was the favorite book because I instructed everyone to stand on their tippy toes for up, crouch down by the floor for down, and turn around for around.  I recently purchased Books in Motion by Julie Dietzel-Glair, and I’m looking forward to using some of her ideas to increase movement during the stories.

PDF HANDOUT:

Gardens Plan

Leave a Reply

