Toddler Time: Peek-a-Boo!

We are approaching the end of the Spring session of Toddler Time!  I had a very small but very well-behaved crowd today.

OPENING RHYMES:

OPEN, SHUT THEM
Credit:  Traditional

HANDS UP HIGH
Credit:  Manly Library

Peek a Boo Books

BOOKS:

PEEKABOO MORNING BY RACHEL ISADORA

WHERE IS TIPPY TOES BY BETSY LEWIN

MIDDLE RHYMES:

WHERE IS THUMBKIN?
Credit:  Traditional

OH WHERE, OH WHERE IS MY BABY’S HAND?
Credit:  Collaborative Summer Reading Program Manual

JACK IN THE BOX
Credit:  Traditional

Baby Duck

FLANNELBOARD:

BABY DUCK
Credit:  Miss Mary Liberry

CALM DOWN RHYME:

TWINKLE, TWINKLE
Credit:  Traditional

MOVEMENT ACTIVITY:

BUBBLES!

Last time we did bubbles in Toddler Time, it was a little chaotic.  This time, it was much better!  Before I started the bubbles, I explained to the toddlers that we’d have to take turns and share the bubbles with one another.  While there were a few toddlers who were trying to hog all the bubbles, most of them took turns popping and were very considerate to others during the bubble popping.

CLOSING RHYME:

CHILDREN, CHILDREN TURN AROUND

HOW IT WENT:

It ran a little short (I could have extended it by blowing more bubbles, but I ran out).  However, everyone really loved the peek-a-boo rhymes, and even some of the more rambunctious toddlers listened and participated during the stories, so I would say that this theme is great for toddlers!  I would definitely use everything again in the future, and maybe just add a few more peek-a-boo rhymes.

PDF HANDOUT:

Peekaboo

3 thoughts on “Toddler Time: Peek-a-Boo!

  1. Sounds like fun! I love Peek a Boo Morning. I wish more books had children of color. If you had see through scarves, they would be fun with a peek a boo theme too. I know at work I have either a scarf rhyme or cd that I’ve used that goes with scarves and peek a boo. Thanks for sharing!!

  2. One other thought: have you ever thought about using a song cube to toss out near the beginning of the storytime? We have a cardboard cube with one picture glued on every side that goes with a song. The storyteller or a child tosses the cube and everyone sings the song that lands face up. We do 2 tosses. The children look forward to see what song will come up. Some of the song choices that we have are: Hickory Dickory Dock (grandfather clock picture); Bumping Up and Down In My Little Red Wagon (red wagon picture); I and tsy Bitsy Spider. I can’t remember right now what other songs we have but anything simple and common will do. Twinkle, Twinkle, Baa Baa Black Sheep or any other nursery rhyme songs will do.

    Here is a possible template if you’d like to do the idea: http://www.mommynature.com/documents/blank-cube-template.pdf Print it on cardstock. Then you have an easy and fun activity for every story time.

    • I do have a song cube! I use it all the time for my Pre-K storytime, but didn’t think to use it in Toddler Time for some strange reason. It would have definitely have been a big hit and would have stretched the time a bit. Thank you for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

