Storytime: Jungle Animals

Last week Tuesday, I came into work feeling very tired and blah (Monday night is my evening shift, so I have that horrible turn around of getting home late and then waking up early).  BUT, when I remembered that the storytime theme for the week was Jungle Animals, all my energy and excitement came rushing back!  There’s so much great stuff for this theme out there.  Here’s what I did:

Opening Rhyme:  Open, Shut Them

Book #1: The Jungle Run by Tony Mitton

Jungle Run

In this rhyming picture book, the jungle animals decide to have a race.  The lion cub decides to participate, even though every one else tells her that she’s too small.  But her size works to her advantage, allowing her to take the lead and win the race.  The story may be simple, but the book’s large size and full page illustrations make this a great choice to share with a group!

Activity #1:  Five Little Monkeys Swinging in a Tree

Five Little Monkeys

Five little monkeys, swinging in a tree,
Teasing Mr. Crocodile…

You can’t catch me, you can’t catch me.
Along comes Mr. Crocodile, as quiet as can be,
And he snaps that monkey right out of that tree!

Four little monkeys…

Credit:  Traditional

This flannelboard song was a big hit with the kids, probably because I decided to break out our crocodile puppet.  I would have the crocodile puppet sneak up on the tree and SNAP his mouth shut when it was time to take a monkey down.  Many giggles ensued.

Book #2:  Oh, No! by Candace Fleming

Oh No

An assortment of animals fall into a big, big hole and a tiger lurks nearby, waiting for his chance to eat them.  However, all the animals in the hole are saved by an elephant, and the tiger falls in.  This book has a lovely refrain of “Oh, No!”; however, the kids weren’t up for saying it along with me.  They did laugh when the tiger got stuck though, and overall, I think they really enjoyed the story.

Book #3:  It’s a Tiger! by David LaRochelle

Its a Tiger

Speaking of tigers, the narrator of this book keeps stumbling upon one!  The kids LOVED this story, and many decided to participate in shouting out, “It’s a tiger!” with me (so I guess that makes up for their lack of “Oh, noes!” in the other book).

Activity # 2:  I Went to the Jungle One Day

[to the tune of London Bridge]

I went to the jungle one day,
Jungle one day, jungle one day.

I met a lion on the way,
And this is what he said…ROAR!

(repeat with snake, elephant, frog, monkey, bird, etc.)

Credit:  Perry Public Library

Normally the kids in my storytime love making animal sounds, but they just were not into this one.

Rhyme Cube:  I’m a Little Tea Pot

Book #4:  Slowly, Slowly, Slowly Said the Sloth by Eric Carle

Slowly, Slowly,Slowly said the Sloth

Lots of alliteration!  Lots of vocabulary!  The kids didn’t like it all that much.

Closing Song:  Children, Children Turn Around

How It Went:

I think it went really well!  The kids liked 3 out of the 4 books and 1 out of the 2 extension activities.  So not a perfect storytime, but not horrible.  And, honestly, any storytime theme that I’m excited about is a good storytime!  (Thankfully I get excited over lots of themes!)

 

Leave a Reply

