Toddler Time: Outer Space!

Last week was our second Toddler Time, and we had a bigger crowd than we did for the first Toddler Time!  I’ve been putting little sneak peaks of my storytimes up on Facebook (I take a picture of a book and extension activity and post it to FB with a reminder of when the storytime starts).  I think these FB posts, along with word of mouth, are the reasons behind my big crowds at this storytime.

OPENING RHYMES:

OPEN, SHUT THEM
Credit:  Traditional

HANDS UP HIGH
Credit:  Here

Toddler Time Outer Space BooksBOOKS:

TICKLE MONSTER BY JOSIE BISSETT

HIGHER! HIGHER! BY LESLIE PATRICELLI

MIDDLE RHYMES:

BUMPIN’ UP AND DOWN IN MY LITTLE SPACE SHUTTLE
Credit:  Slightly altered from Kindergarten Magic by Kathy MacMillan & Christine Kirker

SALLY GO ROUND THE SUN
Credit:  Collaborative Summer Reading Early Literacy Manual

TWINKLE, TWINKLE LITTLE STAR
Credit:  Traditional

Toddler Time RocketsFLANNELBOARD:

FOUR LITTLE ROCKETS
Credit:  Rovingfiddlehead Kidlit via Storytime Katie

MOVEMENT ACTIVITY:

TWINKLE BELLS
We broke out our jingle bells and jingled them along to the tune of Twinkle, Twinkle.  Then we continued to jingle as we listened to “I Don’t Want to Live on the Moon” by Jim Hensen from the Sesame Street Platinum All-Time Favorites CD.

CLOSING RHYME:

CHILDREN, CHILDREN, TURN AROUND
Credit:  Traditional

HOW IT WENT:

This storytime went great!  I was a little less nervous than last week, and things went a little bit smoother.  A wonderful library volunteer of ours (who has an MLS herself and volunteers with us when she’s not working) stopped by with her grandsons.  I asked her librarian-to-librarian how things went, and she had nothing but good things to say!  I think I’ll ask my supervisor to sit in on a future Toddler Time to get more feedback.

But, yes, this was a very fun theme.  The toddlers loved Tickle Monster, and the caregivers loved Higher! Higher!  Bumpin’ Up and Down in my Little Space Shuttle seemed like the most liked rhyme.  I would definitely use this storytime plan again!

PDF HANDOUT

Outer Space Toddler Time

One thought on “Toddler Time: Outer Space!

Leave a Reply

