Storytime: Friendly Monsters!

The other week, I did a Friendly Monsters storytime.  It was the first time for me to do this theme and, I have to say, it’s now one of my favorites!  There are so many great books to read and activities to do with this theme, it was hard narrowing everything down!  However, I’m pretty pleased with what I ended up with.

Opening Song:  Open, Shut Them

Book #1:  Leonardo the Terrible Monster by Mo Willems

This is such a great book for storytime.  It’s large size and full-page spreads makes it easy for everyone to see.  The story is simple and filled with humor.  And there’s a certain section in the book where us librarians really get to ham it up.  (You know which part I’m talking about.  And if you don’t, just read the book.  You’ll figure it out.)  This book definitely went over well with the kids, and it was a great way to start off storytime.

Activity #1:  Five Little Monsters Jumping on the Bed

Five little monsters, jumping on the bed.
One fell off and bumped his head.
Mama called the doctor, and the doctor said.
No more monsters jumping on the bed!

Credit:  Storytime Katie

I have to say that I’m very proud of this flannel set.  I’d even go so far as to say that it’s my favorite!  The kids really enjoyed this one too.  I think the familiar rhyme helped.  Many of them were jumping up and down, patting their heads, calling the doctor and shaking their fingers right along with me.

Book #2:  Don’t Squish the Sasquatch by Kent Redeker

This book.  THIS BOOK!  The concept is very simple:  A Sasquatch who doesn’t like to be squished gets on a bus that slowly fills up with some of the most interesting crossbreeds (alien/Loch Ness monster is my favorite).  Eventually Senor Sasquatch gets squished and the whole thing goes kablooey.  The kids really got into this one, and it wasn’t long before they were saying, “Don’t squish the Sasquatch!” along with me.

Activity #2:  Monster Hokey Pokey

You put your claws in, you take your claws out.
You put your claws in, and you shake them all about.
You do the wild rumpus and you turn yourself around.
That’s what it’s all about!

(continue with horns, tail, big foot, and hairy self)

Credit:  Storytime Katie

The Hokey Pokey is a favorite in my storytimes, and I especially loved the nod to Where the Wild Things are with that whole “wild rumpus” part!

Rhyme Cube

Book #3:  Go to Bed, Monster! by Natasha Wing

A little girl draws a monster who just won’t go to bed!  The kids sat quietly through this one.  I think the adults in the room found it more amusing than the children.

iPad App:  The Monster at the End of This Book

I don’t think I need to tell you how well this one went over!  Everyone had big smiles on their faces when they saw Grover on the screen.  Normally I allow the kids to have a chance to tap the screen to activate the animations, but I did all the tapping and swiping with this one.  I didn’t want to take away from the great story by giving everyone a turn.

Closing Song:  Children, Children, Turn Around

How it Went:  Terrific!  Absolutely terrific.

2 thoughts on “Storytime: Friendly Monsters!

Leave a Reply

