Passive Programming: Book Voting

So one thing I’m learning as a children’s librarian is that I need to be well aware of minor holidays and current events.  Back in April, I made a Titanic book display to commemorate the 100 anniversary of the sinking, and that darn display was close to empty within an hour!  Kids love to participate in things that are going on in the world, and offering a book display or a program that ties in with something that’s happening in the world is likely to be a success.

So the election is coming up, and it is a big, big no-no to bring politics into a library. BUT, I thought that election time could be the perfect time to have kids vote for their favorite books.  So I grabbed some empty tissue boxes, decorated them, and put them out in the youth department for kids to cast their votes.  I decided to stick to well-known series and characters so that as many children as possible could participate.  Older children get to vote for either Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Dork Diaries, while the younger ones get to choose between Clifford and Franklin.

I’ll be keeping these boxes out on the tables until the end of the day on Thursday.  Friday morning, I’ll tally up the votes and see who won.  We had a few votes when I left work yesterday, and I’m hoping to find many more when I arrive at work on Monday.

And the best thing about this programming is that — aside from decorating the tissue boxes — I don’t have to do a thing.  Just leave the boxes out with slips of paper and pencils and let the kids have at  it.  As a busy children’s librarian, I sure do appreciate simple, passive programs.

What passive programs do you offer at your libraries?

Leave a Reply

