Book Display: Blind Date

After reading about the success of Mollie’s Blind Date Book Display, I knew I had to make one for my library!  I’ve actually wanted to do this type of display for a long time, but never had the guts until Mollie started tweeting about it.

The concept of blindly choosing a book goes along with the “Get a Clue at Your Library” theme we’ve got going this summer.  Since my display is for children in grades 2 through 6, I added the reading levels to the front of the books so that a 2nd grader wouldn’t pick a 6th grade book and vice versa.  And since the target age for this display is pretty young, I also didn’t mention the whole ‘blind date’ aspect because I didn’t want the idea of dating a book to put the kids off.  Instead, I called it “Reading the Unknown.  Are you Brave Enough?”

While “Reading the Unknown” is it’s official theme, I secretly like to call it, “The Display of Awesome That’s Also a Pain in My Patootie.”  I had to wrap a lot of books for this display, and wrapping isn’t one of my favorite things to do.  (Though my wrapping skills have gotten much better since starting this project.)  The display has proven to be pretty popular:  I set it up two hours before we closed on Friday.  By the end of my #SaturdayLibrarian shift, I had to use up all the wrapped books I had in reserve to keep it stocked.

…Which means that I have to wrap even more books.  It’s a pain in my patootie, but I’m also very, very happy that it’s so popular.  Anything that puts books into a kid’s hands makes me happy…even if it means that I have to wrestle with brown wrapping paper for another couple of weeks.

3 thoughts on “Book Display: Blind Date

  1. When you wrap them they are beautiful but it IS time consuming. I went for fast and sloppy and slipped them into colored lunch bags folded over. Takes less time but not as good lookin’ as your display!

    • I’ll have to remember the lunch bags idea if I ever want to do this again. Like you said, the display looks pretty with them all wrapped, but I don’t think I have the time to wrap enough books to keep the display stocked for long. Thanks for the advice!

  2. Yeah, I was going to say that in France, where stores do wrapping for free, the bookstores have book-sized bags that only need one piece of tape and they’re done. It looks AWESOME, though, so yay! I love the reading-level tags. :) I would help you wrap them if I were there, but obviously, that’s no help at all.

Leave a Reply

