I’m So Excited!

My library’s Summer Reading Program starts tomorrow!  Tomorrow!  Gosh, it feels like just yesterday that last year’s SRP was ending.  While I’m excited to have a youth department full of kids and to implement the great programs we have planned this summer (our theme is Get a Clue at the Library), I’m mostly excited over the fact that I no longer have to sit in my office and plan summer reading.

These past few months, I’ve been so busy with summer reading planning and visiting schools and TV new stations to talk about summer reading, that I haven’t had any time for professional development.  I haven’t checked a Flannel Friday round-up in weeks, my professional reading is collecting dust on my To Read list, and, worst of all, I haven’t had time to make a flannel set since early March!

That is all going to change!  This summer is going to be a flannel summer for me.  And to get myself super excited for it, I went out and bought stuff for my own personal flannel kit today.  I shamelessly stole this idea after seeing Storytime Katie’s flannelboard kit on Flannel Friday ages ago.  I’m sure I’ll be adding more materials to my kit, but this is what I have so far:

1.  Felt (and a lot of it)

2.  Tape on a roll

3.  Googly eyes

4.  A pencil case full of puffy pain pens

5.  A pencil case filled with scissors, tacky glue, thread and needles

6.  And a pencil case that will someday hold felt scraps

All put together, it looks a little something like this:

I’m so excited to get started.  Hopefully I’ll have something to contribute to Flannel Friday soon!

Leave a Reply

